Currently Playing: Resident Evil 5 (PS4)

I played the original on PS3 and remember being fond of it (as I was with Resident Evil 4) but in six or seven years, I had forgotten just how similar RE5 is to RE4 – and that’s a good thing.

Starting off on amateur difficulty provided a run not too easy but just challenging enough to still be fun to complete. Running through Zero, RE5 and RE6 at an older age, with more knowledge and better skills, was a refreshing reminder.

I can see why fans were so disappointed with the decline from RE5 to RE6 in terms of gameplay. It became much less of a challenge, but RE6 deserves another try because I now appreciate it and I’m sure many others will see it’s not so bad.

I tend not to compare titles from a franchise. Obviously I have favourites, but I enjoy them for what they are as part of one big collection.

Looking forward to the eventual RE4 release on PS4. I still have yet to play Resident Evil 2 or Resident Evil 3 but since the HD remake for RE2 is in the works, I’d rather not spoil it with an outdated early PlayStation version.

Here’s hoping RE3 is brought to HD too.

Leave a Reply

